Daft Punk: 15 Things You Don’t Know About ‘Discovery’

To celebrate the 15th anniversary of Daft Punk’s second album Discovery, here are 15 facts you may not know about it.

1. Discovery is a concept album about the duo’s childhood

In an interview to Remix Magazine, Thomas Bangalter said: “It’s less of a tribute to the music from 1975 to 1985 as an era and more about focusing on the time when we were zero to ten years old. When you’re a child you don’t judge or analyze music. You just like it because you like it. You’re not concerned with whether it’s cool or not.”download movie Guardians

2. The duo wanted Discovery to be the opposite of Homework

In the same interview, Bangalter stated: “Homework was a way to say to the Rock kids that Electronic music is cool. Discovery was the opposite and said to Electronic kids that Rock is cool”.

3. Discovery was entirely recorded in Thomas’s house

The duo began the production and the recording of the album in 1998. It took 2 years in total. Also, the duo used the same equipment as they used in Homework.

4. “One More Time” was the first completed track

They left the track “sitting on a shelf” until its release in 2000.

5. DJ Sneak wrote the lyrics for “Digital Love”

6. The album begins and ends with tracks that feature Romanthony

Romanthony was a DJ, a Producer and a singer from New Jersey. He sang on both the opening and closing tracks on Discovery. The pair met him at the Miami Winter Music Conference in 1996. They wanted him to sing on their album because of the emotional nature of his work. Romanthony released four studio albums and passed away in 2013.

7. Many of the samples on the album have been re-recorded by Daft Punk

Many websites list a whole bunch of tracks that were apparently sampled on Discovery, but Bangatler stated that many of the samples were re-recorded by the duo to create fake samples. Guy-Man estimated that around half of the sampled material on Discovery was actually re-recorded by the duo.

8. Daft Punk officially sampled 4 tracks on the album. Those are:

9. George Duke – “I Love You More” on “Digital Love”

10. Edwin Birdsong – “Cola Bottle Baby” on “Harder, Better, Faster, Stronger”

11. The Imperials – “Can You Imagine” on “Crescendolls”

12. Barry Manilow – “Who’s Been Sleeping In My Bed” on “Superheroes”

13. Discovery was turned into an anime named Interstella 555

The 5tory of the 5ecret 5tar 5system was a collaboration between Toei Animation, Daft Punk and their childhood hero, Leiji Matsumoto. Each track from the album was adapted into an episode in the story of the abduction and rescue of an interstellar pop band.

14. The band’s name in Interstella 555 is The Crescendolls

15. Early versions of Discovery came with a Daft Club membership card

The code on the card allowed the user to access a secret online music service, where they could listen to exclusive tracks from the upcoming Daft Club and Alive 1997 albums.

via ministryofsound.com